Vodafone support

Diskutiere Vodafone support im Unitymedia allgemein Forum im Bereich Rund um Unitymedia; Appologies for posting in ENG, it is easier for me. Just wondering if I anyone else experienced that I had with the Inet issues and support from...

stavistavi

Beiträge
10
Reaktionen
2
Appologies for posting in ENG, it is easier for me. Just wondering if I anyone else experienced that I had with the Inet issues and support from Vodafone.


My inet tariff is 60/3

1st call to the hotline November 17 2020 about speed issues, mainly upload speeds dropping down below 1Mbit especially in evenings
Got the SMS that they acknowledged the issue and They work on it, 2nd SMS received later the same day stating that the fix will take longer and I should have patience.

Multiple calls made pretty much every 2nd week asking about the status and getting different answers (Covid excuse etc ...) but still no fix, Meanwhile the situation got worse and issues started to occur more often (I have seen cases with upload of 20 KB during evening between 18-22h). To me it seems they are oversubscribed in the area (Heidelberg).
When I made a complaint about not getting what I pay for and asking for a discount they said they cannot do it because the case is still open and I need to wait.

Last attempt was made last week, The guy at the hotline promised to send a technician at least to do the measurements but nothing happened and nobody made any contact or showed up.

Soon it is going to be 3 months and still no light at the end of the tunnel. Unfortunately Cable is the only choice here for now (sadly other company offering FTTC is next street but not on ours street yet).

Is this normal and am I the only one?

Thanks for sharing your posts
 
Beobachter7

Beobachter7

Beiträge
403
Reaktionen
2
Where is this happening? Which city, which location?
 

stavistavi

Beiträge
10
Reaktionen
2
sorry for not posting details (should have thought about that). Heidelberg-Handschuhsheim (Wilhelm-Busch-Str if that helps). As far I can tell we have a Coax cable signal amplifier in the basement that got changed recently (and bunch of splitters) and I assume there is coax cable running from the street to our basement (haven't seen any Fiber to Coax convertor). Unfortunately I do not know where the nearest CMTS is.

Hope this helps.
 
MartinP_Do

MartinP_Do

Beiträge
3.926
Reaktionen
199
To get a hint about the reason for your problems, screenshots of the diagnostic pages of the web-interface of your cable router would be helpful

In Fritzbox menu, this are Internet->Kabelinformationen->Kanäle.

With other hardware provided by Vodafone/Unitymedia I am not familiar ...
 

stavistavi

Beiträge
10
Reaktionen
2
To get a hint about the reason for your problems, screenshots of the diagnostic pages of the web-interface of your cable router would be helpful

In Fritzbox menu, this are Internet->Kabelinformationen->Kanäle.

With other hardware provided by Vodafone/Unitymedia I am not familiar ...
Hi,
my question was rather more generic if someone is experiencing an issue for almost 3 months but the Vodafone support seems to be doing not much.

Of course if someone tech savvy with Docsis knowledge can give me some advice or a good hint it would be highly appreciated as well.

Unfortunately I have the White connect box (Compal), but I can post some Network stats for downstream and upstream which are available in the GUI if that would help someone to spot something obvious. The only thing I can spot is that the upsteam ch4 has only 16qam modulation but not sure how much this can affect the performance.

Thx

Downstream bonded channels
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID
14980000001338256qam4
24740000001338256qam1
34820000001338256qam2
44900000001338256qam3
55700000001338256qam11
65860000001338256qam13
75940000001338256qam14
86020000001338256qam15
96180000001338256qam16
106260000001338256qam17
116340000001338256qam18
126420000001338256qam19
136500000001338256qam20
146580000001337256qam21
156660000001338256qam22
166740000001337256qam23
176820000001338256qam24
186900000001337256qam25
196980000001337256qam26
207060000001337256qam27
217460000001437256qam28
227540000001437256qam29
237620000001337256qam30
247700000001337256qam31

Downstream bonded channels
ChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors
1Locked38.6052047709175836
2Locked38.98320449963871637
3Locked38.98320449983381398
4Locked38.60520450000881078
5Locked38.605204499755617
6Locked38.6052045003023370
7Locked38.6052045003598663
8Locked38.60520450076721042
9Locked38.6052045008845859
10Locked38.6052045010008548
11Locked38.6052045004161464
12Locked38.6052045009941613
13Locked38.9832045005150152
14Locked37.6362045011475114
15Locked38.6052045012037433
16Locked37.6362045006040442
17Locked38.9832045011817170
18Locked37.636204501355643
19Locked37.636204501479423
20Locked37.636204501561618
21Locked37.636204501716618
22Locked37.636204501727535
23Locked37.356204501370733
24Locked37.636204501829127


Upstream bonded channels
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID
151000000335.12064qam4
244600000345.12064qam3
337200000345.12064qam2
430800000335.12016qam1

Upstream bonded channels
ChannelChannel TypeT1 TimeoutsT2 TimeoutsT3 TimeoutsT4 Timeouts
12.00000
22.00000
32.00000
42.00010
 
MartinP_Do

MartinP_Do

Beiträge
3.926
Reaktionen
199
RxMER and SNR looks fine, "post RS errors" are not fine, but can be ignored, when they do not increase.
In general Unitymedia/Vodafone provide 5 upstream bonded channels, it seems that one is missing ...

Method to heal overcrowded segments is to split them in two or more segments. That means technical effort. The level of effort varies somewhere between setting some check boxes in control center and burying new cables for back access of some of the separated new segments ... depending on the needed effort it may last some months ... (or years)
Some users here in forum have resigned and moved to VDSL ....
 

stavistavi

Beiträge
10
Reaktionen
2
Thanks for providing the answer, always learning something new.
To be honest I really believe they are oversubscribed these days as everyone is at home but they will never admit that. Newer had these problems with speeds before in past 8 years I am with Unitymedia/Vodafone.
VDSL is unfortunately an option here as max I can get is 16/2Mbit for like 40€ which sucks.
At least I would expect they offer me a LTE modem as an interim solution till they can dig in the ground and fix it.
 

.Marcus.

Beiträge
183
Reaktionen
12
May they introduce the 3.1 OFDM Upload channel already by replace one of the 2.0 channels, in case the modem not recognize / support these new OFDM channel it will report 4 channels only. May this change in the segment data flow could be also an additional reason why you face some issues nowadays vs. 8 years without any issues.
 

stavistavi

Beiträge
10
Reaktionen
2
@.Marcus. : could be one of reasons. True is that the Compal (white Connect Box) is only Docsis 3.0 standard. But since those problems started in November and are only during busy hours (11-12 lunch time and evenings after 17) my gut feeling is that the problem is with the last mile.

Btw I may switch the Cable modem to FB6591 that I would like to buy myself. According to the hotline Vodafone will support it and they just need the MAC/MTA ID of the box so it can register in their network.
Any experience with that?
 

.Marcus.

Beiträge
183
Reaktionen
12
That's right, you need to provide them with this data so that the newly connected device is integrated into the network. If you do it by phone, double-check the numbers with the support to avoid additional calls. It will take some time for the new device to become operational. Be prepared for some downtime on your connection. It is also rumored that Vodafone is currently having some issues with this so called 'Provisioning System'.

About the FB6591 I have no experience. The device support D3.1- about the upload OFDM I am not sure how good, I saw some discussions here in the forum but did not follow them up.
 

stollj3r

Beiträge
1
Reaktionen
0
Hi there,

I've just read about your problems with vodafone. Unfortunately, I'm not an engineer so I can't really help you with any technical issues. However, from my personal experience, it's very important to speak to the right vodafone advisor who is actually responsible for the specific local area you live in and the type of internet connection you have. In Germany, the different branches of vodafone can be quite confusing. This may lead to problems and misunderstandings. From your post, I do understand that you access the internet via a cable (DOCSIS) connection from within the state of Baden-Wurttemberg.

I would strongly recommend calling this number only +4922146619100. This is the former Unitymedia customer service centre currently still dealing with any issues in your local area. Unitymedia used to be the operator of the cable network in Baden-Wurttemberg before vodafone took over in 2019.

Whenever I experienced issues with my cable connection, Unitymedia or Vodafone fixed the problem with the help of local subcontractors within a couple of days. I always received several text messages about the appointments and the engineers being about to arrive at my home address. I live in North Rhine-Westphalia though.

Hope this helps :)

All the best
J
 
__QT__

__QT__

Beiträge
1.133
Reaktionen
238
I would stop speaking here to anybody but send them a mail to [email protected] with "Beschwerde" in subject. Attaching evidence of the problem (vodafone speedtest results from various days and daytime) documenting the problem and DEMANDING a fix within 14 days from the day of the email. Else tell them you will quit the contract with immediate effect.

Of course the threat of quitting is only useful if you can have a true alternative at your location (e.g. VDSL). Else it might be not too helpful but still you can demand to get the service you have a contract for.

Calling numbers will always mean you reach somebody from 1st level and these people are mostly clueless and try to get their own numbers right by marking your problem as fixed. This is a never ending story as you just experience. Stop doing that. Waste of time.
 

stavistavi

Beiträge
10
Reaktionen
2
Thanks a lot for useful tips. I usually call local BaWu hotline numbers but like said it is the 1st level support. Will try the email way.
 

stavistavi

Beiträge
10
Reaktionen
2
So in case everyone wonders how this ended up.

What I wrote per mail:

Sehr geehrter Unitymedia/Vodafone-Support,

Ich habe die Hotline 17.11.2020 kontaktiert und mich über die langsamen Upload-Geschwindigkeiten im Internet beschwert.

Es sind bereits 3 Monate vergangen und alle zwei Wochen mehrere Anrufe bei der Hotline, aber das Problem ist immer noch nicht gelöst. Sie haben sogar keinen Techniker geschickt, obwohl Sie es versprochen haben.

Ich bin seit 8 Jahren Kunde von Unitymedia / Vodafone, habe aber noch nie einen so schlechten Support erhalten.

Ich poste Links zu SpeedTest-Ergebnissen, um weitere Beweise zu erhalten:

"
links to speedtest results measured over time (removed to keep the thread short)
"

Ich erwarte folgendes:
- Sie geben mir ein Tracking-Ticket / einen Ausweis für meinen Fall, der am 17.11.2020 eröffnet wurde, mit einer Liste der von Ihrer Seite ergriffenen Maßnahmen für eine eventuelle weitere Eskalation und Beschwerde beim VZBV.

- mir eine angemessene finanzielle Entschädigung für 3 dieser Monate gewähren, in denen Sie gemäß unserem Vertrag keine Konnektivität bereitstellen konnten.

- einen Plan ausarbeiten, wie ich meine Geschwindigkeitsprobleme innerhalb der nächsten 14 Tage beheben kann. Wenn ein Fix nicht bereitgestellt werden kann, erwarte ich, dass Sie mir auf Ihre Kosten eine voll funktionsfähige Alternative (LTE-Modem, DSL) mit vergleichbaren Geschwindigkeitsparametern zur Verfügung stellen, bis das Problem behoben ist.



And the response:


Lieber Herr...

es tut uns sehr leid, dass Sie erst jetzt eine Antwort von uns bekommen.

Zurzeit haben wir außergewöhnlich viele Anfragen, denn natürlich stellt die aktuelle Situation an uns alle neue Herausforderungen. Unser Netz zu optimieren und für alle unsere Kunden immer ausreichende Netz-Kapazitäten zu schaffen ist dabei unsere höchste Priorität.

Können Sie Ihren Anschluss weiter nur eingeschränkt nutzen? Dann melden Sie sich bitte unter 0221 46 61 91 00 und wir kümmern uns darum.

Freundliche Grüße


Talking to the support again was a waste of time, again. When I at least asked for LTE modem till they can fix the problem (preliminary date to dig in the ground to lay some extra cables is 31.7.) they said they cannot do it since they are cable division only. When I asked for increase of the upload speed the response was it will not help (they are simply overbooked)... They recommended I should go with DSL (16/2 is max I can get and for 40€) and there is nothing else they can do...

Vodafone here in Germany is really rubbish. Just incredible amount of flustration and looking at the forum here and talking to neighbors apparendly I am not the only one. Just makes me wonder if a class action lawsuit against them would bring something.

Btw noticed that my upstream channels now has only 16 QAM modulation for all 4 upstream channels. Mentioned it to tech support as well but they give a f.ck.

I work in IT and these things can happen and they do happen. But what really pisses me off is that it takes ages to get it fixed and they are NOT TRANSPARENT AND HONEST. Apparently they have problems but instead of admitting it you end up hitting L1 tech support giving you different answers each time. And all it would take is "hey, we have problems, we know but we are working on it, estimated fix is ...., as a compensation we will give you 50% off for each month" or something similar
 

hotte70

Beiträge
195
Reaktionen
17
Das mit LTE als Ersatz wäre schon eine gute Sache, aber bei der Vielzahl an Kunden mit Problemen könnte deren Mobilfunknetz das vermutlich gar nicht auffangen, das Problem würde sich dann nur verlagern. Wie es aussieht wird sich bei dir im Segment so schnell leider nichts bessern, da bleibt höchstens der Wechsel zu DSL, aber 16/2 ist dann wohl auch keine echte Alternative.
 
  • Gefällt mir
Reaktionen: stavistavi

stavistavi

Beiträge
10
Reaktionen
2
Das mit LTE als Ersatz wäre schon eine gute Sache, aber bei der Vielzahl an Kunden mit Problemen könnte deren Mobilfunknetz das vermutlich gar nicht auffangen, das Problem würde sich dann nur verlagern. Wie es aussieht wird sich bei dir im Segment so schnell leider nichts bessern, da bleibt höchstens der Wechsel zu DSL, aber 16/2 ist dann wohl auch keine echte Alternative.
Unfortunately DSL is not an option here due to speeds. The only reason why I asked for a temporary LTE modem is the fact that sometimes the upload is 100-200kbits only (dialup anyone?). And ping going up to 3 seconds under a slight load does not help neither.

It is just my impression but it seems that the telco infrastructure here in Germany is not in a really good shape. Telco companies were just milking customers in past years without making any significant investments into their backbone and now they are caught surprised when they realize they are heavily oversubscribed and people actually use what was sold to them.
 

stavistavi

Beiträge
10
Reaktionen
2
Unbelievable just happened. Got a phone call from Vodafone support that they will gratis send a temporary Gigacube LTE modem till they can dig in the ground (July/Aug 2021) and fix the cable connectivity.
 

stavistavi

Beiträge
10
Reaktionen
2
now I can have a look at multi WAN with pFsense. Always wanted to try it out and see how it works...
 

yuser

Beiträge
125
Reaktionen
12
The same happend for me today. My ticket is open since February, today they called me and asked how the situation is.
They offered me also to send a gigacube in order to help until the node split will happen.
Let’s see…
 

yuser

Beiträge
125
Reaktionen
12
So und jetzt frage ich mich gerade, ob die hier durch die Hintertür einen Mobilfunkvertrag abgeschlossen haben - siehe Anhang.
Wie seht ihr das?
Dann widerrufe ich diesen Käse nämlich gleich wieder, wenn ich plötzlich ab Monat 7 fast 80€/Monat abdrücken soll.
Da steht doch ganz klar 24 Monate Neuvertrag??

Hat jemand Erfahrungen?
 

Anhänge

Nachtwesen

Beiträge
1.191
Reaktionen
216
Jep, sehe ich auch wie einen neuen Mobilfunkvertrag. Richtig miese Nummer von Vodafone. Bestimmt bekommt der Hotliner noch ne Provision für den Dreck.
 

yuser

Beiträge
125
Reaktionen
12
Danke, so sehe ich das auch.
Ich könnte flippen, dieser Saftladen ist an Dreistigkeit nicht mehr zu überbieten!

Sobald das Teil kommt geht der Widerspruch raus.
Und dann haben sie mich so weit dass ich bald Kabel kündige und VDSL bei der Telekom buche. Man kann über die Telekom sagen was man will aber die haben mir noch nie ungefragt einen Laufzeitvertrag unterschieben wollen… es ist einfach nicht mehr zu glauben…
 

Nachtwesen

Beiträge
1.191
Reaktionen
216
Das hört man ja leider super oft, gerade von Vodafone, das die einem Verträge andrehen die wirklich mehr als fragwürdig sind. Da muss man super aufpassen. Finde auch das macht Vodafone so richtig derbe unsympathisch diese Aktionen.
 
Thema:

Vodafone support

Vodafone support - Ähnliche Themen

  • Vodafone trennt sich beim Routing von Liberty Global

    Vodafone trennt sich beim Routing von Liberty Global:
  • Vodafone Station + UniFi USG

    Vodafone Station + UniFi USG: Moin allerseits ich konnte meine Vodafone Station in den Bridge Modus setzen wollte nun mein USG dahinter hängen jetzt habe ich nur ein Problem...
  • Vodafone Homespots mit altem Unitymedia Kabelanschluß

    Vodafone Homespots mit altem Unitymedia Kabelanschluß: Ich habe ihn nie benutzt den Hotspot, aber jetzt, warum nicht. Ich war mal Vodafone Kunde, bin dann zu Unitymedia ins Kabel und wurde aufgekauft...
  • Vodafone Mask Reminder

    Vodafone Mask Reminder: Hi, gerade einen Brief bekommen mit der Aufschrift. Vodafone Mask Reminder. Inhalt eine FFP2 NR Maske und eine IFTTT App für die Erinnerung wenn...
  • Verständnisfrage ping/traceroute (Vodafone Business)

    Verständnisfrage ping/traceroute (Vodafone Business): Hallo zusammen, ich habe für die Firma mehrere "Company Internet"-Anschlüsse, bei denen wir eigentlich schon immer folgendes Bild beim Traceroute...
  • Ähnliche Themen
  • Vodafone trennt sich beim Routing von Liberty Global

    Vodafone trennt sich beim Routing von Liberty Global:
  • Vodafone Station + UniFi USG

    Vodafone Station + UniFi USG: Moin allerseits ich konnte meine Vodafone Station in den Bridge Modus setzen wollte nun mein USG dahinter hängen jetzt habe ich nur ein Problem...
  • Vodafone Homespots mit altem Unitymedia Kabelanschluß

    Vodafone Homespots mit altem Unitymedia Kabelanschluß: Ich habe ihn nie benutzt den Hotspot, aber jetzt, warum nicht. Ich war mal Vodafone Kunde, bin dann zu Unitymedia ins Kabel und wurde aufgekauft...
  • Vodafone Mask Reminder

    Vodafone Mask Reminder: Hi, gerade einen Brief bekommen mit der Aufschrift. Vodafone Mask Reminder. Inhalt eine FFP2 NR Maske und eine IFTTT App für die Erinnerung wenn...
  • Verständnisfrage ping/traceroute (Vodafone Business)

    Verständnisfrage ping/traceroute (Vodafone Business): Hallo zusammen, ich habe für die Firma mehrere "Company Internet"-Anschlüsse, bei denen wir eigentlich schon immer folgendes Bild beim Traceroute...